Whole 30 Lemon and Ginger on the Go

I saw a video the other night on my Facebook feed making fantastic claims that lemon in its entirety could cure cancer among other ills.

It suggested freezing the whole lemon and then grating it by hand for use in things like tea etc. That actually wasn’t a bad idea except the grating by hand part. Thankfully I do have a food processor that was given to me as a hand me down wedding gift. It sat in my cupboard for a couple of years but once I learned the awesomeness of this ingenious invention it became a kitchen favorite and has seen much, much better days. (In other words it’s on it’s last leg. No, it’s on crutches.)

So after zesting the backside of a lemon I decided to put it in plastic wrap and freeze it. By the next day it was rock solid and quite the challenge to cut in half while using an oven mitt to avoid freezer burn on my hands. Eventually I got it done and grated that baby into the finest fluffy lemony snow I’ve ever seen.

The lemon actually tasted a little sweet to me five days into this #Whole30.

After taking a teaspoon for my lemon olive oil and vinegar dip for sashimi I froze the rest in mini Tupperware containers. Then I got to work on processing my fresh ginger.

There’s a lot you can learn from Japanese variety TV shows. One thing I learned was this cool trick of using a spoon to effectively and efficiently peel the skin off of ginger root.

Also that a Magic Bullet can grate ginger or daikon radish really well if you know the right trick to it, which is simply to put a single piece of either in the blender cup and let it dance around as it gets chipped away at by the blade eventually turning into a proper oroshi.

Then I like to use silicon ice cube trays to freeze the grated ginger into easy to use portions for recipes like ginger pork or butajiru.

My carpaccio style sashimi was fantastic with this duo dipping sauce.

Some parts of a whole30 challenge in Japan are so Yum!

Leave a comment